What I’ve Been Reading and Listening to: July 3rd-9th

What I’ve been reading: The Circle by Dave Eggers

The Circle

I’ve got through a surprising amount of books this week, I’m really pleased with my progress! The Circle was a Kindle book I bought on Amazon last week, when it was on offer for 99p (gotta love those 99p daily Kindle deals!). I’d seen a lot of hype about the book, and also about the film that’s been made of it; and it had been on my ridiculously long to-read list for a while. But I have to admit, I was somewhat disappointed by it. I love speculative fiction, novels which are set in the near-future which have a dark twist to them – like Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam series for example, where genetic experimentation is completely normal, and animal-human hybrids exist – but this book let me down. Without spoiling it too much, I felt like it didn’t add anything new to the discussion of technology becoming too invasive, and our dependence on social media. One thing I was also uncomfortable with was what I felt to be an unrealistic portrayal of a young woman. But, one huge surprise was my hometown of Carmarthen being mentioned! I started at my Kindle as if it were some kind of alien artifact, what on Earth was my town’s name doing in a book set in California written by an American author?? I gave it three stars on Goodreads, because I liked the idea of what was explored in the book, but it didn’t go into the depth that I’d expected.

What I’ve been listening to: Eos 10

On Friday, I finished listening to the second season of Eos 10. It was one of the many audio dramas that I’d seen recommended by the Wolf 359 fandom, because well, it’s another enjoyable audio drama set in space so I guess it comes easily to people’s minds. It’s set on a huge space station on the edge of deep space; but what makes it different to your average sci-fi is that the main characters are medical staff. It’s been described as ‘Scrubs in space’, which I think is a brilliant comparison, as it’s very much a sci-fi comedy. It can get pretty NSFW at times, but there’s also a much deeper side to it with the characters’ backstories and struggles. The third season is currently in the works, and I’m looking forward to its return.

Leave a Reply

