What I’ve Been Reading and Listening to: June 19th-25th

What I’ve been reading: The Book of The Unnamed Midwife by Meg Elison

The Book of The Unnamed Midwife

I love my post-apocalyptic fiction. Yes, I know it’s bleak, but I find it fascinating. In this novel, a pandemic has killed off nearly all of mankind; and not only that, it has affected women more than men. It’s a dangerous world for the few remaining women, such as the unnamed midwife, who decides to try and pass as a man for her own safety. I’ve read a lot of post-apocalyptic novels, but this story of a disease which killed off much more women is a fresh tale, as dark and scary as parts of it are. I’m about half-way through, and it’s a gripping story.

What I’ve been listening to: Welcome to Night Vale

Anyone who listens to audio dramas will think, you’re only listening to that now?? Night Vale is the podcast which has introduced a lot of people to the world of audio dramas, and more often than not, it’s the starting point for fans of the medium. I’ve had it in my podcast app, waiting for me for weeks, but I finally got round to starting it this week. I’d heard a lot about it, so I had a good idea of what to expect; but I didn’t actually know what the format was, that it’s broadcasts from the town’s radio station. I’m a fan of the magical realism (Murakami ftw!) genre, so this is right up my street. The broadcasts tell the community about the strange things that have been going on in the town, such as a glow cloud floating in the sky, dinosaurs appearing through a portal in time, and mysterious hooded figures… I’m only four episodes in, I haven’t been listening to as many podcasts and episodes this week as I’d normally do, but I completely understand the hype around the show now!

Leave a Reply

