What I’ve Been Reading and Listening to – May 29th – June 4th

I think everyone will understand why I didn’t want to write such a frivolous post on Sunday. My heart goes out to everyone affected by the attack on London on Saturday night.

Yes, I know it’s now Tuesday, but I wasn’t in the right state of mind to write yesterday. Some days are just rubbish. So, I’m catching up!

What I’m reading – Stasiland by Anna Funder

Stasiland

In a former life, this book lived in a hospital. Yeah, I’d love to know how a proof copy ended up there, too. Having been unemployed since January, all of my paperback books over the last few months have come from the Free Books store in my hometown, and I’m so grateful that it exists. I wrote a post about it a few days after moving back to Carmarthen, and I’ve seen their collection of donated books grow and grow over the last few months. Unfortunately their home is under threat, with talk of another business taking over the building, and they are looking for a new location. I can only hope that a positive conclusion is found.

I’m very interested in Cold War-era history, for some reason it fascinates me. This book was one I found through recommendations on Goodreads, and I was so happy to find a copy at the Free Books. I haven’t got very far yet, but so far I’ve read the story of a 16 year old from East Germany who nearly started World War III. I’m still very much in a reading slump, with other things (podcasts*cough*podcasts) taking over the time I previously used to dedicate to my reading.

What I’ve been listening to – Spirits

The premise behind Spirits is inspired, two drunken women discuss legends, myths, urban legends and everything in between. Isn’t it the best idea ever?? I’ve listened to Amanda and Julia talk about Greek gods, Norse mythology, and North American urban legends; as well as many other myths from across the world. Julia has degrees in history and religious studies, so she really knows her stuff. Not only is it funny hearing their drink-fueled tangents and shenanigans, but it’s also educational! Last week I listened to an episode about Stonehenge, which was the first one to cover anything from the UK. They had also had a guest, Lauren Shippen who’s behind The Bright Sessions; and I lost my mind when she mentioned Merlin! There’s a legend that Merlin was involved in moving the stones from the Preseli hills (which aren’t far from the area I grew up), and I was so happy to hear a group of Americans talk about a figure who is so closely linked to my hometown of Carmarthen!

 

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading and Listening to – May 29th – June 4th

Leave a Reply

