Starting Over

So. Long time, no… write?

I’ve been thinking a lot over the last few days about this blog and how I’m, well, basically not writing anything anymore. To be perfectly honest, because credit where credit’s due; I’ve been inspired by an American podcaster/YouTuber/voice actor/a million other things called Zach Valenti, who I found through an audio drama I’ve been listening to (more on that later…), to get back to writing again. Basically, he talks a lot about creativity and how to be more creative in his videos and streams. It really made me think a lot about what creativity meant to me, and the fact that I’d very much neglected my writing. I’ve always written in some form since I was about 8 years old, or thereabouts. I’d been given an electric typewriter, and I used to use it to write these little stories on. Growing older, I kept a daily diary for years and years, and loved creative writing in school, but getting bad marks for writing for GCSE coursework really knocked me back (the results for the exams themselves were a whole other thing, strangely enough…). I’ve got the obligatory unfinished novel or two in dusty notebooks from years ago, and of course, there’s the blog I kept when I was living in Italy. But for so long now, I haven’t written absolutely anything.

A lot of it is me thinking that I’m not good enough. That’s a bigger problem in my life in general, but even though I’ve always loved writing and the feel of my hands dancing over a keyboard, I’ve never felt that what I did was that good. Or really useful, either. I did it for my last blog because I felt like I had a story to tell, one that might well be interesting to some, even though my way of actually telling it wasn’t necessarily all that great. I’ve been trying to look at my writing in a more positive and realistic way recently. I know that it does genuinely need some work, mostly so that it’s more structured and less like a stream of consciousness. But that’s (hopefully) going to come from actually writing more. And I’ve come to the conclusion that, to use a quote I’ve seen and heard being thrown about a lot recently, ‘It doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be done’.

So here I am, re-booting and re-starting this blog. I know from how I’ve been in the past that it’ll be easy for me to fall back into not writing again; and it’s easy to just sit around doing nothing when you’re unemployed. So, yes, I guess that’s a bit of an update, even though there’s nothing really to update. After working in retail for over three months over Christmas, I’m still unemployed, and still living in my hometown of Carmarthen. But nobody said starting over in my home country was going to be easy. The inital idea of this blog was to do something that I hadn’t really seen much of, to write about the experiences of having left a life in a foreign country to come back to where I was born and grew up. But I’m going to broaden my definition of that to cover more about my life in general, just to make the process of writing easier and enjoyable for me, and hopefully more interesting for the people reading it.

So that’s sort of where I’m at right now. Before jumping straight back in with a post I’d come up with this morning, I wanted to write some kind of introduction and explain the change of pace. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Starting Over

Leave a Reply

