Habemus Broadband!

Broadband

Yesterday was a glorious day in my house. I woke up to find that, after going to bed on Monday night, our broadband connection had been activated! Our go-live date had been Monday, but we had been warned that the connection could be activated at any point up to midnight. Still, that didn’t stop me from stalking the router to see if the two little lights on it that would indicate that the connection was live had lit up or not. At about 10pm I gave up, and being the worrier that I am, wasn’t convinced that in the morning I would be able to connect to the wifi.

But on Tuesday morning the router was lit up like a Christmas tree. Oh happy day!

To understand why I’m making such a fuss about something a lot of people take for granted, and have taken for granted for years, you need to understand a bit about my past. Even in Italy I had a dongle (isn’t that an awful word??) because to be perfectly honest, I didn’t want to deal with the hassle of setting up a connection in my flat which only had an old school phone socket. Plus I could live without it, after sitting in front of a computer screen all day at work I wanted to try and restrict the amount of time I used the internet at home. But it meant that when I *did* use my computer I was limited not only for speed, but also with the amount of data I could use each month; and I didn’t have a wifi connection.

I grew up in the middle of the countryside in west Wales, where even in 2004 when I left for university, broadband was a distant dream. The nearest town was 10 miles away, and even the village where I went to primary school was 3 miles away. Even dongles were no good as the mobile signal was almost non-existent! For my three years at my home university of Warwick we had super-fast unlimited broadband and wifi, and even in my first year before Facebook and YouTube showed up, many many nights (or early morning at that point!) I would be lost in a rabbit hole somewhere online, overwhelmed by all the information I finally had access to without having to wait for hours for it! And last night I was straight back to my old habits – up very late faffing about!

So now I’m finally able to sit at my computer and use wifi to blog. The ones I had written since returning home had been done thanks to my phone’s data connection, either by writing on my phone (what a task…) or by using it as a hotspot which ate up SO much of my data. I’ve finally arrived in the 21st century!

 

Leave a Reply

