Free Books!

If you know me then you know that I read. A LOT. Thanks to Goodreads (LOVE) I can easily keep track of exactly how much I read, and for the last couple of years I’ve read about a 100 books. So it can be a pricey hobby! I’d been looking forward to checking out the free books shop that’s in my hometown for weeks, and yesterday morning I finally visited it.

I’m not going to lie, I was speechless as I walked in. Shelves upon shelves, boxes and piles of books in an old carpet shop – I’d never seen anything like it! It’s run by a charity whose mission is to save books from being thrown away by giving them to good homes for free. There’s a limit of a maximum three books per person per day, and with so many to go through it was quite a task choosing what I wanted to take home with me. Novels are shelved by the author’s surname, though the alphabetical order doesn’t go beyond the first letter so it took a lot of careful studying of each bookshelf to see what was on offer. There are also smaller shelves for different categories of boks such as science fiction (which I also spent some time looking at), travel, and autobiographies – the usual sort of stuff you’d find in a library. I was also pleased to find a selection of foreign language books, even though there were only a couple of Italian books.

After some digging, I found a book by one of my favourite authors, Margaret Atwood. I was also very tempted to take home an older edition of The Handmaid’s Tale to the one I already have – I might be going back for that one! The other two were Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist (I’ve been meaning to check out the hype surrounding Coelho for myself for a while now) and a book called I Came, I Saw, I Lost My Luggage by Peter Biddlecombe which caught my eye.

Oh, the missing box saga continues, by the way. It didn’t arrive on Wednesday, and after contacting the company I booked the shipment through I found out that it had (somehow) been delivered to the Amazon depot in Swansea! The last I heard yesterday was that the box was being searched for, but so far I’ve had no indication as to when – or if – I should expect to finally receive it. 18Kg of clothes! And today’s another day at home, waiting just in case it shows up – but at least that means I can get started on my books!

7 thoughts on “Free Books!

Leave a Reply

